Vegan Mac & Cheeze

I woke up this morning to this:

*I have no idea why the picture came out so badly but if you can’t tell, that’s rain.

I was so happy that I had nothing on my calendar for today 🙂  I could enjoy the rain and have a cozy day.

Cozy means:

Knitting…..

Pumpkin oats….

Tea….


and Comfort Food…..

Mac & Cheeze…. Serious yum.

Not only did this delectable dish satisfy my comfort food need, it also let me cross off another recipe from The List!

Recently Jessica (the domestic vegan) suggested to me this mac and cheeze from VeganYumYum.  She also suggested to use more veggies, less Earth Balance, and more nutritional yeast.  I complied and the result was SOOO GOOD!

I followed the recipe as it was but I made the following changes:

increased the potatoes to 1½ cups

increased the broccoli to 2½ cups

decreased the Earth Balance to 2½ tbsp.

increased the nutritional yeast to ½ cup

added 2 chopped and sautéed portobello mushroom caps and ½ cup of frozen peas to the pasta and broccoli when mixing in with the sauce

-used panko bread crumbs instead of making my own.  I think this is why my breadcrumbs didn’t brown properly…. I’ll have to experiment.

That’s all!  I was so impressed with the sauce.  I think the trick is in the cashews and potatoes, they make it soooo creamy!  The extra nutritional yeast is a definite must for me.  I love it!

Andy loved it too!  He was pretty skeptical about vegan mac & cheeze but his worries were a waste.  This was so good!  Perfect for the rainy weather 🙂  Pure comfort food!

Mmmmmm I can’t wait to have the leftovers tomorrow.  Anyone else tried vegan mac & cheeze?

Also, feel free to check out The List and suggest recipes for me to try for my uncompleted recipes!!

Time for bed!  Sweet Dreams xo

About todayslady

I'm a vegetarian who loves to bake and cook.
This entry was posted in Main Course, Recipes, Vegan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Vegan Mac & Cheeze

  1. Anna says:

    This seems like the ultimate cozy day…love it!

  2. Lists are THE best! I also have “recipes to try” list. Need to add bread pudding to mine, as well! Thanks for the reminder!

    I’ve never tried Panko, but I love to add Cornflake crumbs as a topper for my mac & cheese. Love the addition of the peas and mushrooms.

  3. thehealthyjunky says:

    Love rainy days! It’s rainy here as I type! That vegan Mac and Cheese looks great! I love all the veggies!

  4. Danielle says:

    That mac and cheese looks nice and colorful… which means lots of antioxidants…Yay! (Three cheers for antioxidants!) 🙂

  5. Kelsey says:

    elephant tea!! haha, lol it pours out of the trunk ❤
    ew the rain, i know! that was so disgusting yesterday.. i felt so crappy. i should go back in time so i couldve made this amazing mac n cheese- wouldve cheered me up!!

    xoxo

  6. I’ve tried vegan mac & cheeze and it was pretty good (I think I made the veganomicon recipe)!

    And is that an elephant tea kettle?? Adorableeeeee 🙂

  7. btw, YES you need to come to victoria to get some muffins ❤ its worth the trip for sure 🙂 🙂

  8. Yum, I need to try this recipe! What a nice, calm day. Love the tea pot too, super cute!

  9. Jessica says:

    I love your elephant teapot! So cute!

    Rainy days are the best! Such a great excuse to cuddle up & be cozy.

    So glad you liked that mac recipe! I looooove it so much & make it as often as I can. 🙂

  10. Salah says:

    Vegan mac and cheese sounds sooo good!

Leave a Reply

