Ugly Oats

Hello everyone!

Wow, I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday.  Summer is flying by and before we know it, August will be here!!!  Crazy!

So my appointment with the naturopath went well.  I really liked him and felt that he understood my problems exactly.  Basically he told me what I already kinda knew, no dairy and to eat whole foods.  He also gave me a couple of supplements to help me digest my food and ease stomach upsets.  As a result of eating minimal processed food I’m also pretty much eating gluten free, which has worked for me in the past.  I feel really good so far!!!  Its been a week and I can’t believe the difference.  I thought it would take longer!  I could go more into what exactly I was told at the naturopath but I don’t really want to bore anyone….. and it would be a heck of a lot to type out so → Food Pictures 🙂

I’ve been eating oatmeal every single morning.  I’ve been puppy sitting for my brother so I’ve only had access to quick oats and the microwave.  From my experience I have come to the conclusion that making oatmeal in the microwave makes ugly oatmeal.  It still tastes delish but once I mix in my flax, it’s darn ugly!  Look at it!

 

 

Ugly Oats

1/3 cup quick oats

2/3 cup water

1 tbsp flax (ground) mixed in at the end

topped with some unsweetened almond milk 🙂

I’ve also been eating a lot of salads.  This one is topped with some leftover sauteed veggies, so good!

For dinner last night I made brown rice sushi!!! 

I made 3 similar types of sushi:

1. avocado, cucumber, and red pepper

2. avocado, cucumber, red pepper, and roasted portabello mushrooms

3. avocado and  roasted portabello mushrooms 

They were all so good!  I used the recipe from Veganomicon for the roasted portabellos and they were so good in the sushi!!  I also made a salad and topped them with leftover avocado, portabello mushrooms, cashews, walnuts, red pepper, and cucumber! 

The sushi was so good!  However, my stomach was upset for the rest of the night…. I feel like it might have been either the marinade for the mushrooms or the soy sauce.  I’ll just have to experiment. 

Ok, time to get on with my day!  Today is my grandma’s birthday so we’re going to go out for dinner and go back to my parents for some dessert!  I love my grandma!  I grew up with my grandparents living downstairs from us and I feel so lucky to have had that.  Happy Birthday Grandma!!! xoxoxo

Have such a nice day everyone!  I hope it’s nice and sunny where you live 🙂

About todayslady

I'm a vegetarian who loves to bake and cook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ugly Oats

  1. ugly oats are the best!!!! or at least they taste the best ❤

    hope summer has been treating you really well and uve been soaking up every bit of it!

    happy bday to ur grandma!! YAY ❤

  2. Karin says:

    Awww so much has happened in the last few weeks. Very belated congratulations to your marriage!!

    Mmm.. sushi, salad and oats! Would you mind making me dinner too?? 😉 I’ve actually never had brown rice sushi before.

    My grandma lived really close to me as well (right next to us) and I loved it too!

  3. Very interesting on the naturopath appointment, glad the diet is working out so far. The salad and sushi look great, you’re much better at rolling nori wraps than me! 🙂

  4. I’m glad you’re feeling better!! I think your oats look delishhh

    Happy bday to your grandma & enjoy your night 😀

  5. Danielle says:

    Hi… I just discovered your blog! I recently started a new blog of my own 🙂

    I made sushi yesterday but had a really difficult time cutting it into individual slices – do you have any tips for how you managed to cut the individual pieces?

    • todayslady says:

      Thanks for stopping by!!!! I’ll check out your blog now!!

      For cutting sushi rolls I’m not sure what the secret is….. mine just happened to work out! The end pieces were a bit ugly though. Maybe the key is to make sure your rolls are tightly wrapped.. I also cut with a sawing motion…. Try it again!!! Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

