Update and a couple of tasty salads

How is everyone today??

I thought I’d give an update on my life because a lot has changed in the last little while:

First of all, awhile back I had mentioned something about some news in our family that wasn’t so good.  The news was about Andy’s dad.  We found out that he has cancer and the doctors had only given him a few months to live, that was around the end of May.  Andy and I had originally planned on having our wedding in October but decided to move up the wedding so that his dad could for sure be there.  We got married July 3rd at Andy’s sisters place with just our immediate families as guests.  Andy’s dad had lots of energy that day and everyone had an amazing time!! It was perfect!

Andy’s dad still has very high ups where he has lots of energy but also has some down days where he is in bed.  Thankfully, for the past month, most days he’s been great. 

Another detail is that we still will have the originally planned wedding in October (it will technically be considered a renewal of vows) so that our friends and family can celebrate our marriage with us!  Even though the doctors only gave him a few months, Andy’s dad may be able to be there too!  You never know, and so far he’s doing great!

Sorry about the heavy discussion but I just wanted to let everyone know whats going on with me right now.  And so you’re not confused as to why I’m still planning another wedding just after I got married 😉

Hopefully soon I’ll get the photos back from the wedding at Andy’s sisters and I can show you guys some!!!  But for now, I have some recipes for some amazing salads that I made the other day!  They’re both sooooo flavorful and can each be made with different grains or pastas.  I love quinoa salads so I made one of those and my mom likes couscous so I made one with that 🙂

Salad #1

Yummy Quinoa Salad

Quinoa Salad (inspired by my friend Andrea’s recipe)

Part one:

1 cup quinoa, rinsed

2 cups water

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp turmeric

1/2 tsp salt

Mix all of the above in a pot.  Cover and bring to a boil.  Turn down heat, cook for 20 min or untill all of the liquid has been absorbed.

 

Part 2: the dressing

Juice and zest of one lemon

2 cloves of garlic, minced

2 tsp of olive oil

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp turmeric

pepper to taste

Mix everything in a small bowl

 

Part 3: the rest

1 cup celery, diced

1/2 cup green onions, chopped

1/2 cup raisins

1/4-1/2 cup pumpkin seeds

1/4 cup roasted almonds, chopped

fresh parsley, chopped (add as much or as little as you like)

When the quinoa is cooled to at least room temp, mix parts 1, 2, and 3 together.  Chill.  Enjoy.

 

Salad #2

Oh so good Couscous Salad

Couscous Salad  (adapted from Barefoot Contessa)

Part 1: roast the veggies

2 small zucchinis, chopped

1 red bell pepper, chopped

1 yellow or orange bell pepper, chopped

1 red onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/3 cup olive oil

1 tsp sea salt

pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425 F.  Mix all above together and roast on a baking sheet for about 40 min.  Stir once halfway through cook time.

 

Part 2: the couscous

1 cup couscous

1 & 1/4 cups water

pinch of salt

Bring water to a boil in a pot.  Stir in the couscous and the salt, cover and remove from heat.  Let sit for 5 min.  Fluff with a fork and put in a medium bowl.  Once veggies are done roasting, add them to the couscous along with any cooking juices on baking sheet.  Let the coucous-roasted veggie mix cool to room temp before adding the rest of the ingredients.

 

Part 3: the dressing

Juice of 2 lemons

1 tsp sea salt

pepper to taste

Mix together and add to the couscous-roasted veggie mix.  There should have been enough oil added from the roasted veggies but if you think it needs a little extra you can add it in now. 

Part 4: the rest

4 green onions, chopped

15 fresh basil leaves, sliced

Just add to the salad and enjoy now or later, chilled or room temp 🙂

 

Now that you have these yummy recipes, you can have what I did for lunch yesterday:

I added both salads to a basic salad (lettuce, tomato, cucumber…), then topped it with avocado, chickpeas, pumpkin seeds, roasted almonds and basil!!!  So good!  Especially with a little olive oil and apple cider vinegar 🙂

Have a great day everyone 🙂

 

 

 

 

About todayslady

I'm a vegetarian who loves to bake and cook.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Salads, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Update and a couple of tasty salads

  1. i am SO sorry to hear about Andy’s father. my dad had cancer last summer and thankfully pulled out of it okay.

    im glad his dad was able to find strength and really had a great time. my prayers are with him and with you guys as well!

    have a beautiful thursday love!
    btw. avocado and chickpeas are so good in salads!!

  2. actorsdiet says:

    i’m very sorry about andy’s father. both my husband and my fathers have had cancer ( and both are fine now) and it’s a very emotional time. be good to yourself – those salads are a great start!

  3. Congrats on the marriage, but so sorry about Andy’s dad! These recipes look amazing, I’m a huge quinoa fan lately. Hang in there!

  4. I’m so sorry about Andy’s dad. *I’m sending good thoughts*

    But that’s exciting that you’re married!! Yes, pleaseee post pictures so I can gush at them 🙂

  5. Anna says:

    Wow– I am so sorry to hear about Andy’s father. Stay strong– I can only imagine how tough these times must be for the family.

    On a happier note– congrats on your wedding!! I’ve often said that I wish I could have two (or three or four!)!

  6. Jessica says:

    Oh, man. I missed this post. That’s such sad news about Andy’s dad, and I’m sorry to hear it. My thoughts are with you guys!

Leave a Reply

