Black Bean Burgers!!!

Wow, it’s sure been awhile!

The reason for the mini disappearance is simply school.  I’m taking 2 accelerated  organic chemistry classes this summer and it’s taking up most of my waking hours 😦  The good news is that so far I’ve been really motivated and I’m understanding everything we’re learning…… it must be the pressure of the accelerated class.  Does anyone else find that they perform their best when there’s extra pressure or a time crunch on what you’re doing?

Anywho… back to food.  My blog isn’t about school, it’s an escape from school 🙂  I made these amazing black bean burgers last night for dinner and they sure hit the spot!  I was so happy with the way they turned out, perfectly spiced.  I’ve tried a few other black bean burger recipes that taste kinda bland but these babies rock!!  They a bit on the soft side but thats just my preference 🙂  I served them up on some toasted buns topped with avocado (the avocado is key here!) , tomato, picklered cabbage, ketchup and a lil dijon.  Oh and I also melted some daiya cheese on the patties because daiya is amazing!

Black Bean Burgers (yeilds approx 4 good sized patties, 3 if you like them big) recipe by Jaclyn

1 tbsp flaxseeds

3 tbsp water

½ an onion, roughly chopped

1 clove of garlic, roughly chopped

½ tsp sea salt

1 tsp garlic powder

½ tsp paprika

¼ tsp cumin

a few good dashes of hot sauce (I use chipotle hot sauce)

1 tsp olive oil

1 14oz can black beans, rinsed and drained

1 carrot, grated

½ cup rolled oats

½ tbsp Braggs or tamari

Step 1:

Grind flaxseeds and put in a bowl with water.  Let this sit while you prepare the other ingredients.  The flaxseeds and water will get all slimy and help hold the burgers together 😉

Step 2:

In a pan over medium to medium-high heat, saute the onion, garlic, spices and hot sauce until the onions have softened.  About 5-6 minutes.

Step 3:

In a food processor add the black beans, the carrots, half of the oats, the Braggs, the flaxseed/water mixture, and the onion mixture.  Process until smooth.  Transfer to a large bowl and stir in the remaining oats.  Shape into patties and fry them up!  Done!




About todayslady

I'm a vegetarian who loves to bake and cook.
This entry was posted in Main Course, Uncategorized, Vegan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Black Bean Burgers!!!

  1. deimonia says:

    Those look delicious.

    I love black bean burgers. I make vegan burgers often since my daughter loves them.

    I’ve been craving burgers for a few days. I think I’ll make some tomorrow on the grill. My daughter is out of school, so I know she’d love to help with grilling. 🙂

  2. Danielle says:

    Glad to see you back! Organic chem…blechh. I had to take that- no fun 😕

    I’m in love with Daiya! Best non-dairy cheese out there 😀

  3. I’ve been reading so much about Daiya cheese and one of these days will actually get around to trying it! The black bean burgers look amazing and something I think I’ll try soon here with hubby. Thanks!

  4. damn those burgers look delicious girl!!!

    im the same way!! i totally wait til the last min on purpose.. anytime its crunch time i go all out and produce some might-fine work.. if i start early i either end up scrapping the whole thing anyways and starting over.. or i never get it finished. totally know what ur saying!!! ❤

  5. Kelly says:

    Yum, Yum and more Yum! Those looks fabulous!

  6. Karin says:

    I wanted to try making black bean burgers for ages but my first batch has yet to be made. I’ll remember your recipe though 🙂

  7. Jessica says:

    I love black bean burgers so much! Yours look so yummy.

  8. hey girl! hope everything is stil going good! been a long time since uve posted and ive miss you 😦 but i hope its just cuz life has been treating you amazingly and summer is starting out equally as delicious.

    take care,
    thinking of you! ❤
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

