Love Loaf!

I’m so excited!!  I went out yesterday AND today without a jacket!!!!  Yay for warmer weather!!!  Soon enough it’ll be time for flip flops and cute dresses 🙂

Andy was away this past weekend so I stayed at my parents.  I get so lonely staying in an empty house and there’s always someone home at my parents.  I had such a good time!  We didn’t do anything exciting, it was just some good family time!!  The only 2 things I missed about my place was the ability to use the computer whenever I wanted and my peanut butter!!  I always buy Adam’s Natural Peanut Butter, it has a little salt in it and I love that!!  It really brings out the peanut flavor!!  My mom only buys their unsalted pb 😦  Its not the same!!!  I still had it anyways but I was so glad this morning to have my pb back!!!

I haven’t posted a picture of oats in awhile.  Here’s the classic combo I had today:

Banana oats with chia seeds!  Topped of with almond milk, coconut, and MORE banana!!!

Nuf about that and on to more important things:  Banana Bread!!


Mmmmm there is nothing more cozy than the smell of banana bread baking in the oven.  It reminds me of when I was little.  My mom frequently made banana bread and the smell was one of the best parts about it!  It’s so crazy how certain smells bring back memories.  Banana bread = childhood, Cupcakes = my friend Shawna….  Sounds also bring back memories.  Today I heard someone’s cell phone ringing and their ring tone is the same one I use for my alarm in the morning.  It made me want to barf!

Okay before I get off topic again, here’s the info on this amazing banana bread.  The recipe is from Veganomicon and its called Lower Fat Banana Bread. While I was at my parents my bananas got all brown so I was excited to actually be able to bake with them!!  Bananas don’t last long enough in this house to be brown enough to bake with them.  What can I say, we heart bananas!!

I had enough bananas to make two loaves!!!!

(sorry for the blurryness, I have no idea what happened)

Mmmmm so good and moist!!!  I highly recommend this recipe!!!  And the cookbook, I love it!!

I have one more loaf to add to this post.  Loaves are so great that I like them for dinner and dessert!  Here’s a recipe for one of my favorite dinners!!  Cashew Loaf!! I got this recipe from my friend Shawna and I have no idea where its from but it’s awesome.  Perfect to bring to family dinners as a vegetarian entree.  It reminds me of stuffing and is so good with cranberry sauce and vegetarian gravy.  You can even throw some craisins into the batter for some extra fun 😉

Cashew Loaf

1 cup chopped cashews

1 egg or flax egg if your vegan

1½ tsp oil

2 tsp powdered veggie broth

2 tsp dried parsley

½ cup non dairy milk

1 tsp dried sage

½ tsp salt

⅔ cup chopped onion

½ cup cracker crumbs or bread crumbs

1 cup cooked rice

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl.  Bake in oven at 350° F in a greased loaf pan for 50 minutes.  Let cool for 10 minutes in pan before removing.  Serve and enjoy 🙂

And that’s all I got for ya!  Two great loaves and a picture of oatmeal.  Have a great night everyone!!

What’s your favorite smell from your childhood?

About todayslady

I'm a vegetarian who loves to bake and cook.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Main Course, Uncategorized, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Love Loaf!

  1. Danielle says:

    All of the loaves look great! I’ve made that banana bread from VCON before and it was def. a hit 😀

    Girl, you gotta start carrying PB in your purse haha

  2. lisasfoods says:

    Yes, those loaves look great! I keep reading about chia seeds but haven’t tried them yet.

  3. Anna says:

    I get lonely when I have to stay at home alone too…I would totally go home to stay with my parents…if they didn’t live twenty hours away! lol.

    That cashew loaf sounds really interesting!! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Karin says:

    Banana bread = heaven! That cashew loaf looks great too, I’ve never heard of it before though.
    Favourite smell from my childhood.. Hmm I really like the smell of black tea with sugar and milk. I don’t drink it anymore these days but it reminds me of my grandma’s place where we used to have tea often. Oh I miss those times.

  5. Jessica says:

    I LOVE oats! You just reminded me that I haven’t had any for awhile… For a few weeks, I had them every single day for lunch. I love mine with banana, dried cherries, flaxseed & a dollop of almond butter on top. Yours looks super yummy! Love the coconut!

    Your loaves look great, too!

  6. actorsdiet says:

    i’m totally making this cashew loaf – though i’m outa cashews so it’ll probably be hazlenuts!

  7. Wow, the banana and cashew loafs look wonderful!

  8. thehealthyjunky says:

    The cashew loaf looks great and so healthy 🙂

  9. Kelly says:

    That cashew loaf looks AMAZING!! I have got to try that!! My favorite childhood smell is cinnamon rolls. Usually on the weekends my mom would make cinnamon rolls for my brother and me…loved it! 🙂

  10. Karla says:

    Ooh your two bread loaves look amazing!!
    Banana bread is basically like heaven!!

  11. Simply Life says:

    Oh that cashew loaf looks amazing!

  12. Emily says:

    Those oats look good! I’ve been wanting to try chia seeds for a while.

    Yaaaay for warmer weather!

Leave a Reply

