Pizza Pizza!

Happy Thursday everyone!  And yay for it almost being the weekend, especially for my fellow bloggers who’s Thursdays are their Fridays (like me )!!

Last night me and Andy had a fun dinner.  Pizza!

This baby was made with:

Bob’s Red Mill GF Pizza Crust Mix

Whole Foods Marinara Sauce (bought in the fridge section)

Daiya vegan cheese

Tomatoes

Fresh Basil

Mmmmmm this was so good!!  The crust was surprisingly pretty great but I would definitely prefer some non-gluten free pizza dough.  This one was a little dense but maybe that was because we didn’t have a real pizza pan and had to use a cookie sheet…. I know that pizza pans have little holes all over them.  Does anyone know if using a pizza pan over a cookie sheet really makes a difference?

I was also so skeptical over this vegan cheese.  I had heard some really good things about it and I’m trying to cut back on dairy so I invested in this HUGE bag of Daiya cheese.  I was not disappointed!!  This vegan cheese melts and tastes like cheese!! It has almost the same consistency and I’ve just looked at the website and not only does it taste yummy, it’s also soy, gluten, nut, cholesterol, and trans fat free.  Its completely vegan and also won Veg News’ Product of the Year Award!!  Such a great purchase!  I was so nervous because the only store that carries it around here sells it in these huge bags so I had to either have tons of it or none of it.  When I asked the store owner if they had smaller sizes she said no and then these two guys who were shopping just looked at me and one said “Its soooo worth it!”  and the other nodded (very enthusiastically).  I was sold.  Has anyone tried this cheese yet?  I highly recommend!

Back to the pizza.  It was so good!  I love simple toppings on pizza, especially when fresh basil is involved!! I also love lots of different types of veggies on my pizza…… I guess it really depends on my mood.  This time, I really wanted to taste the flavors of the basil and the sauce.

Another new food I’ve been excited over is Overnight Oats! I can’t believe that I had never made them before!!  I’m so glad that I finally did, just in time for the warmer weather!!  I especially love putting raisins in the mix.  Love how they plump up!!


In my mix:

1/3 cup oats

1/3 cup plain soy yogurt

1/3 cup water

1/3 cup soymilk

1/2 banana

handful of raisins

1/2 tbsp chia seeds

Topped with a drizzle of Canadian Maple Syrup!  Yummy 🙂

Mmmmmm overnight oats make me happy!  They are so good alongside a nice steamy cup of coffee!!

Today is going to be a good day.  I can feel it!!  I woke up feeling great and I have two labs to do before my weekend starts.  The labs are for Chemistry and Biology and I think they’re short ones too!!!  Catcha Later ladies and gents!!

Question: If you’ve made overnight oats, what’s your favorite ingredients to put in them!! (I’m a newbie so I need some tips!)



About todayslady

I'm a vegetarian who loves to bake and cook.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Main Course, Uncategorized, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Pizza Pizza!

  1. Danielle says:

    I’ve never heard of that brand of “cheese” before! I must try it 😀

    I’d also like to know the answer to the pizza pan question. I always just use a baking sheet!

    Yayy for early weekends 😀

  2. Karin says:

    I’ve never had vegan cheese on pizza but yours looks heavenly! (High five for less dairy!)
    Overnight oats.. Hmm.. Oh yeah, I love adding frozen blueberries! They leave adoreable purple spots! I also like adding hemp seeds and flax.

  3. The pizza looks amazing and totally something I would try!

  4. Kelly says:

    I always just put my pizza directly on the rack and then put some foil underneath to catch any drippings. It really makes the crust crisp up nicely!! 🙂

  5. Jessica says:

    I really need to try overnight oats!!! I keep seeing them, but I have yet to try them! Yours look delicious.

    That pizza looks AWESOME! I have only had Daiya a few times, and I wasn’t blown away. Everyone seems to fall in love with it, so I really want to try it again!!

    • todayslady says:

      Yes, give it a try again!! I havent experimented with hardly any vegan cheeses before so I dont have any others to compare it too….. I just loved this! Let me know what you think!!

  6. actorsdiet says:

    daiya is great!

    also, when i make overnight oats i just use water. it makes a much less creamier result, but it’s just as good to me.

  7. That pizza looks amazing! I want some right now!

    I think the pizza pan allows the air to circulate to the crust, that way the crust gets done and crispy. I know that when I pile the toppings on and use a cookie sheet, the crust stays doughy.

  8. Anna says:

    Ooh, thanks for the vegan cheese recommendation! I’ve only tried Follow Your Heart, and it was okay, but it definitely didn’t melt like yours did!

  9. Simply Life says:

    YUM! That pizza is making me hungry!

  10. ancientfoods says:

    Try a baking stone and parchment paper for a good crust. i make pizza quite often ( also bread) and this works for me.
    Nothing against a pizza pan but with a bit of practice you can shap a pizza crust free form. No throwing in the air for me,I just shap it by hand turning every so often to get it round. Nice topping and a good picture. I like your site.

  11. We always do pizza Fridays. It gives me something fun to look forward to! That is my favorite pizza. Tomato, mozz, and basil! Yum!

    My favorite thing to put in overnight oats is frozen fruit. By the time you eat it in the morning the fruit is defrosted and all the juices are in the oats! SO GOOD!

  12. Karla says:

    Oooh I love homemade pizza!
    I’ve heard pizza stones are good because they get hotter so the pizza is crispier. I guess that’s the big difference, but I’m not really sure.
    Still haven’t tried overnight oats! Look good though!

Leave a Reply

