OMG! Where have you been all my life?!

Ok, so the dramatic title of this post wasn’t really necessary but I’m so excited!  Today I FINALLY bought a microwave  🙂 🙂 🙂  And no, I haven’t lived my whole life without one like title above implies…. its just been the past year.  When Andy and I moved in together, the apartment we first lived in didn’t come with a microwave.  I don’t even think that little kitchen had enough counter space for one anyways, it was super tiny!

At first I liked not having a microwave.  I grew up using one and was up for the challenge of heating food up the old-fashioned way and not relying on that sort of technology.  Well I lasted a good amount of time but now it doesn’t feel like a fun challenge, it feels more like an inconvenience in a lot of situations!  So for the past few months I’ve been really wanting to get one!!  I missed being able to defrost things for dinner in a matter of minutes, rather than having to plan it a full day in advance!  There are also so many yummy looking recipes out there for microwave goodies (ie. single serving cookies) and I want to try them!!  I don’t think that microwaves are especially good to be using all the time but they do make life a lot easier!  Yay for microwaves!

Here she is:

Isn't she a beaut!

Alright, enough about appliances!  Today was a beautiful day 🙂  The only semi-annoying part was that I was up at 4am and couldn’t get back to sleep!  I stayed in bed tossing and turning until 4:30 and then just got up.  I think it was from eating dinner at like 9pm last night (especially since it was Indian food).  Thinking about it right now I realize that it was probably a blessing in disguise that I was up so early.  I ended up studying for like 2 hours before me and Andy had to leave for our walk and our full day of errands.  Those 2 hours were the only studying that I’ve done today (not enough) and I probably won’t be doing any tonight (really, who studies after 7 o’clock?).

Tomorrow is another day and I will be better!  My goal: 5 hours of good studying!  Ahhh, now that I’ve typed it I have to do it!  I usually don’t study for that long on weekends but I really need to this time!!  I’m so glad that I have this blog because it is so great for motivation.  I love the blog community!  Seriously, everyone is so supportive and you all have such great advice and offer so many different views on all types of subjects.  I’ve met a lot of great people through my short blogging life and I love how I keep meeting more and more people.  It’s great to have friends from all over the place who share the a lot of the same interests, views on life, and food philosophies as I do!  You all rock and thank you so much for motivating and inspiring me through commenting on my blog and especially through writing your own blogs!  Hugs for everyone!!

Here’s some less serious stuff:  Fooooooood!

My morning oats:

1/2 cup oats

1/2 tbsp chia seeds

1 and 1/2 cups water

Topped off with almond butter and coconut ❤


SNACKS (I snacked all day because I was running around like a mad woman, no “real” lunch, didn’t bring my camera out…I know, I know!  Bad blogger!):

Love these!

This is so pathetic.  Only like 3 pictures for this whole post and one was my microwave!  I need to bring my camera in my purse at all times!  I think one of the reasons why I don’t is because I really don’t like my camera.  It’s not even mine, it’s Andy’s (sorry if you’re reading this Andy, your camera is just not my type!).  Its so sensitive to any movement, resulting in a lot of blurry pics!   Arrggg!   Soon I’m going to invest in my own but until then I need to appreciate the one I have and USE IT!

I promise more pictures tomorrow! I swear!  Goodnight everyone and have an awesome saturday night!!

Question: How do you feel about microwaves?  What do you typically use the microwave for?


About todayslady

I'm a vegetarian who loves to bake and cook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to OMG! Where have you been all my life?!

  1. Danielle says:

    Congrats on the microwave:D I use the micro for everything! Seriously, even if I make something in the oven/on the stove, I like to have left-overs which need to be re-heated!

    And I’m terrible about having my camera on me but I’m getting better!

  2. Christy says:

    I lived without a microwave for several years and really didn’t miss it too much. My friends thought I was crazy!! 🙂

  3. yes yes yes! now you can finally have some hot dates 😉

  4. Anna says:

    Good luck with all the studying, and congrats on the purchase! I can’t imagine life without my microwave 🙂

  5. I mainly use it to quickly steam winter squashes, warm up water for single cups of tea and the occasional heated veggie dish.

  6. Serena says:

    Living at boarding school, microwaves are essential to me. 🙂 However, when I’m at home, I try not to use them as much. They freak me out a bit…not knowing how they work and all that.

    My mom has a great slow-cooker that helps make prep. faster w/o a microwave. Just pop the food in the cooker at night and it’ll be ready (and warm) the next day. 😀

Leave a Reply

