A Day in the City

Alright so last night I watched Julie and Julia. I knew going into the movie that I might not like it.  I had heard so many people say it was good and probably equal amounts of people say it was bad.  I was excited to see it but still didn’t keep my hopes high because I hate seeing a movie that doesn’t live up to your expectations.

I watched it and liked it!  I didn’t love it and didn’t really like the Julie character too much.  I think the only reason I liked it was because of Meryl Streep.  I love her!  The flashbacks to Julia Child were my favorite parts.  Then I read eveyone’s comments on my last post and it seems that most people didn’t think it was all it was hyped up to be either.  A good thing did come out of me watching this movie though.  It made me want to start to challenge myself in the kitchen!  There are so many ingredients that I’m afraid of that I think that I should start to try (ie. okra, coconut…the list goes on).  Hopefully soon I’ll start to get over my fears and just go for it!

Anyways, today Andy, my sister Michelle and I went downtown to enjoy the Olympic atmosphere of Vancouver.  All we did was just walk around and look at all of the sights.  We wanted to stay downtown to watch the hockey game at a restaurant but all of the places were full!  I still can’t believe it.  We started looking for a place to go to like three hours before the game started and we were out of luck.  I guess we should have gone four hours early?  It’s crazy!

Here’s some pictures of us in the city:

Me and Andy just got home and we are so tired!  Walking around all day in a busy city really wears me out!  I just ate dinner and am in comfy clothes on my couch ready for the hockey game to start.  Now that I think of it, I’m kinda glad we didn’t stay downtown.  I’m sooo enjoying my house right now!

Here are most of todays eats so far:

Breaky= banana oats mmmm

Lunch was a salad with all the fixin’s.  Below the pic of my salad is a pic of Andy’s lunch.  He had two sandwiches and spiderman alphagetti.  Isn’t it funny what guys eat compared to girls?

Pretty much right after lunch I had some cornbread with strawberry jam.  Loves it

My dinner was a veggie burger on squirrelly bread and sauteed veggies on the side

That’s all so far, I’ll probably have some sort of goodies later but I don’t know what yet.  TGIF everybody!  Its the weekend!

Question:  Are there any ingredients that you have always wanted to use in cooking/baking but have been too intimidated to try?  If so, what are some of them?

About todayslady

I'm a vegetarian who loves to bake and cook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Day in the City

  1. you are SO pretty! glad you liked the movie, it’s fun that there’s some blogging thrown in there 🙂

  2. Danielle says:

    I’m with Stef, I love the pics! Thanks for the movie review- I still really want to see it!

    I’m really not afraid to try anything lol. But I look forward to seeing your experiments

Leave a Reply

