Busy Day!

Hello everyone!  Wow, today was just what I needed.  I was busy all day running errands and doing wedding planning stuff.  We started off by going to meet with the decorating company and we chose our centerpieces.  I’m so happy to get that over and done with.  No more dreams about wedding decor!

Next we went to grocery shopping and then to Andy’s parents house.  Ok, get this, the reason why we went to Andy’s parents is that Andy wanted to pick up his old Super Nintendo games.  Yes, that’s right…. we have Super Nintendo!  We bought it yesterday and I’m so excited.  It reminds me of when I was little 🙂  Another thing to distract me from studying, just what I needed!

The rest of the day was driving around to get some other small stuff done.  Nothing exciting really.  Also, I forgot to bring my camera so no pics! Woops.  Instead of posting what I ate today I thought I’d introduce a hobby of mine. FARMING!

I’m a farmer.  I grow my own sprouts!  I’m not a typical farmer (my farm consists of a jar and a weird looking lid) because farming sprouts takes little time and little energy.  Ok, enough being weird.  Growing your own sprouts is so easy and results in delicious that are so good in sandwiches or on salads!

Look at this:

1. You take a jar.  (I got mine from a local health food store.  Its made specifically for sprouts because it has a special lid) Then put 1-2 tablespoons of seeds/beans in the jar.  You can get the seeds/beans from a health food store too.  Next, cover the seeds/beans with water and let soak for 2-6 hours.

2.  Drain the water from the jar, leaving only the seeds/beans.  This is where the special lid comes in handy, it has little holes in it for straining the water out.  Then, tilt the jar on the side, the special lid has an anchor to make this easy too.  Let sit on a plate in the fridge until the next day.

3.  The next day, put some water in the jar and drain out right away.  Repeat the rinsing and draining each day until the seeds/beans are done sprouting!  Takes about 3-6 days.  Easy, am I right?

All Done!

If you love sprouts and haven’t ever tried sprouting your own, try it!!! I didn’t know that doing so little could be so rewarding!

Aight, I’m off to go watch Julie and Julia! I’m so excited, I’ve wanted to see this for so long.  It’s finally happening, I finally convinced Andy to watch it with me!  Ok nighty night!

Question: Who likes sprouts? And have you ever farmed your own?

If you don’t like either of those questions then: Have you seen Julie and Julia?  What did you think of it?

About todayslady

I'm a vegetarian who loves to bake and cook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Busy Day!

  1. cool! i’ve never farmed my own, thanks for the how to. i saw the movie, i actually wasn’t a huge fan. i think i had big expectations so was let down. amy adams just annoyed me in that role! meryl streep was great though, of course

  2. Danielle says:

    Oohh I’ve always wanted to grow my own sprouts! I’m just not too sure I like the crunchiness (of beans, that is). I haven’t seen Julie & Julia but I feel like I should because my parents have seen it and everytime I mention the blog they somehow relate it to that movie haha

  3. Christy says:

    That is so neat! I will definitely try this!

  4. Kelly says:

    I gotta be honest…I didn’t like Julie and Julia. (gasp…I know!) I read the book too and didn’t like the book either. I was sad because I really high hopes for both of them! Can’t wait to hear what you think.

  5. I read the Julie & Julia book and saw the movie and had mixed feelings. I have more of a respect for French cooking (though no desire to do it :-)). Julie’s character in the book was pretty raw and whiny, but I loved the story about Julia’s earlier days before cooking that did not make it to the movie.

    I have great memories from Super Nintendo and love the throwback games from it on my DS. Have fun, I’m jealous!

    I tried sprouting once and wasn’t successful, I plan to try again soon. Yours look great.

  6. I didn’t really love the movie..I thought it was a little too long, but I did like the interaction between the young Julie and her boyfriend..and I loved the NYC influence! I’ve never heard of making your own sprouts, sounds like fun!

Leave a Reply

