The Beginning of Spring and Pumpkin Cookies!

Bonjour!  Wow, where I live has the nicest weather right now!  It feels like spring and is so so sunny, the sky is blue, and the trees are blossoming.  Ok, truth be told, I’ve only seen one tree that had blossoms from a distance and I also wasn’t wearing my glasses so I’m not to sure how reliable that one is….  Needless to say, I’m loving the weather right now.

At the little park by my house, first thing this morning

Onto the topic of good food.  I’ve wanted to experiment with gluten free baking so I finally got my chance after I bought some Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Flour Mix and some Xanthan Gum.  I used it to make Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies!  They turned out so much better than I expected.  The only thing is that I would probably refer to them as more of a “muffin cookie” they were soft but still had the chewiness that I love for a cookie.  I will definitely make this recipe again but next time use raisins and some sort of nuts instead of chocolate chips.  I didn’t have either on hand, I almost always prefer raisins instead of chocolate chips in cookies and this recipe would be even better with them (in my opinion).  The recipe I semi-followed is from Veganomicon although I changed it quite a bit, so I’m going to post the recipe as I made it.  If you want to make this but don’t want to do it gluten free then you can totally use whole wheat or regular all purpose flour instead of the gluten free flour.  Also, you would need to omit the xanthan gum.

Pumpkin Cookies-makes 4 dozen cookies

2 cups gluten free flour mix

½ tsp xanthan gum

1½ cups rolled oats (gluten free)

1 tsp baking soda

¾ tsp salt

1½ tsp cinnamon

1 cup sugar

½ cup maple syrup

½ cup canola oil

2 tbsp molasses

1 cup canned pumpkin

1 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp ground flax

chocolate chips, raisins, walnuts… whatever you want to add in whatever amount you like!

Preheat oven to 350° F.  Lightly grease a cookie sheet

Mix together flour, xanthan, oats, baking soda, salt and spices.  In a separate bowl, mix together remaining ingredients except add-ins (choc. chips, nuts…).  Add wet ingredients to dry and stir to combine.  Fold in add-ins.

Drop by tablespoons onto cookie sheet.  They can be placed relatively close together because they don’t spread too much.  Bake for 14-16 minutes, until golden.  Then transfer to a cooling rack.  These taste good still warm but even better once cooled.  The day after they’re even better!


Enough of this cookie talk!  Me and Andy are leaving soon to go walk in the park and then run a few errands.  I’m so excited, we’re going to Homesense to hopefully find some nice things for our place.  We moved in together about a year ago and haven’t bought anything to decorate our place with.  The walls are so bare and it doesn’t really look “homey”.  I want pictures on the walls!!

About todayslady

I'm a vegetarian who loves to bake and cook.
This entry was posted in Cookies and Bars, Vegan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Beginning of Spring and Pumpkin Cookies!

  1. i’ve never used xanthan gum in a recipe, in fact whenever i see the ingredients list contain it i scratch it off my list of potential recipes! but yours turned out so well, maybe i’ll overcome my fear of the stuff!! enjoy your beautiful day, and have fun decorating, that is always something i love to do

    • todayslady says:

      I was afraid too! This was my first time using it and it turned out great. I want to experiment more to see if it works as well for other things. The only thing is that it’s on the expensive side but you only use a tiny little bit. If you could find it in bulk that would be best! Sadly we didn’t buy any paintings today 😦 the store had nothing that appealed to me. Oh well I guess I saved some money! Also, I thought of you when I was at the store because I saw your pink polka dot mug’s twin!

  2. Danielle says:

    Pumpkin + Chocolate is one of my favorite combos 😀 I love experimenting with GF flours too. I’m currently trying to use up this bag of buckweat flour…

    Xanthan gum works well in smoothies too!

Leave a Reply

