Hummus with a secret ingredient…..

Hummus.  There are so many variations of different hummus recipes and I’ve tried a good handful of them.  I always seem to come back to making a roasted red pepper hummus.  For some reason I don’t really ever get tired of it…. except for that time that I ate it like two times a day for like a week.  Can you tell I don’t like to waste food?

Well I hadn’t made hummus in a few months so I decided that that was too long a time to go without it.  Out came the chickpeas and the food processor, it was time for some gooood hummus.  I was sad when I discovered that I had no more roasted red peppers 😦  As a result, I made a new hummus recipe!  Ok, it’s not too much different than a lot of other hummus recipes and some may even call it pretty traditional but I heart it!

So the title of this post “secret ingredient” is because I never use tahini in my hummus recipes.  I just prefer to use almond butter.  When I first started to make hummus, way back when, I didn’t want to go out and buy tahini and used peanut butter instead.  That graduated to my experimenting with cashew butter and almond butter instead of that.  I don’t really know if it really is a secret ingredient, maybe many people have tried almond butter in hummus, but I do know that it tastes so good in hummus!!  There’s no way to describe it, you just have to try it!

Here’s what went into my hummus today:

1 19oz can of chickpeas

1 garlic clove

1 tbs apple cider vinegar

½ tsp sea salt

1 tsp dried parsley

¹⁄₈ cup olive oil

¹⁄₈ cup almond butter

add water if needed to get the consistency you like

Just put everything in a food processor and puree until smooth! So easy! Now if only dishes could be magically done for me…..

hummus

Ok it looks like regular hummus but looks can fool! Tastes so good!

About todayslady

I'm a vegetarian who loves to bake and cook.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Recipes, Vegan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hummus with a secret ingredient…..

  1. Danielle says:

    I’ve never tried making hummus with almond butter! I’d imagine it’d be more sweet than savory. Right up my ally 🙂

  2. i bet the AB makes the hummus amazing! i finally got a mini food processor and have been making my own hummus but i happen to have tahini and not AB at the moment (isn’t that weird? i usde to ALWAYS have AB on hand!!!) yours sounds great 🙂

  3. todayslady says:

    hey danielle thanks for visiting my blog! You’re spot on, its definitely sweeter!

    Stef, so weird that you have tahini and not AB. Make sure to put AB on your grocery list because I’d love to know how you like it in hummus!!

  4. re: your comment on my last post…OMG you don’t have a microwave? i would not be able to function without it. or, i would, but my meals would not be the same! it’s probably way better for you to not have one, but i agree you’re missing out on baked apples! i’d be too lazy/impatient to crank on the oven each time

    • todayslady says:

      I know, it’s so sad that i dont have a microwave! I agree that they’re probably not the greatest for you but there are so many times I wish I had one, like when I’m in the mood for something that has to be heated and am too hungry to wait for the oven to do the job…… damn, now you got me wanting a microwave! I’m getting married in October so thats like the first thing thats going on the gift registry! I think I can hold on till then, I’ll just use your pictures of baked apples for my fix.

Leave a Reply

