Just Like Dad’s Oatmeal Cookies

Hello Blog World!

After a long hiatus, I’m back!

There’s no reason in particular that I took a break from blogging….. kind of a mixture between being super busy and feeling like I needed a break.  Anyways, I’m back and I made cookies!

Ok, the title may be a little deceiving to some.  The “Dad” I’m referring to is my Dad, not the brand Dad’s Cookies (those are good too! But totally different).

My Dad makes some delicious cookies.  You may even say they’re Dad-licious……. Whoa that was totally a Dad Joke…. I sometimes make those.

Back to my Dad and his cookies.  He may switch up the recipe for the dough but without fail, there will always be chocolate chips, raisins, walnuts, and rolled oats thrown in.  Sometimes he’ll also add coconut, pecans, and maybe even cashews (he’s crazy like that).  But always always there will be those 4 ingredients making an appearance in his cookies.  And they’re always soooooo good!

The cookies that I made are just like my Dad would make.  Only my version is vegan and incorporates flaxseed and brown rice syrup….. I don’t even know if my Dad knows what brown rice syrup is…..  Anywho, these cookies turned out perfectly!  Chewy, sweet, perfectly spiced.  And YES, nutmeg is necessary!!!!  I never used to use nutmeg when a recipe called for it but I’ve recently discovered the importance of it.  It adds the “little something extra” that a recipe needs.  Nutmeg = Necessary.  Just do it.

Just Like Dad’s Oatmeal Cookies      

½ c. vegan margarine, softened

½ c. brown sugar, packed

¼ c. brown rice syrup

¼ c. granulated sugar

1 flax egg (1 tbsp flaxseed, ground and added to 3 tbsp water)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 c. all purpose flour

½ tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

¼ tsp nutmeg

½ tsp cinnamon

1½ c. rolled oats

½ c. semi-sweet chocolate chips (non dairy)

½ c. raisins

¼ c. walnuts

1. Preheat oven to 375°

2. In a large bowl, beat butter, sugars, brown rice syrup, flax egg, and vanilla until well mixed.

3. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Add to wet ingredients and stir until combined.

4. Fold in oats, chocolate chips, raisins and walnuts.  Drop by golf ball sized dough balls onto a greased cookie sheet.  Bake 10-13 minutes until golden.  Cool for a few minutes on sheet before removing to wire rack to cool completely.   Makes approximately 20 large cookies.

*recipe adapted from Deborah’s Culinary Confections , courtesy of The Brown Eyed Baker

About todayslady

I'm a vegetarian who loves to bake and cook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Like Dad’s Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Jessica says:

    So glad to see you back!! I’ve missed you.

    These cookies look so delicious! I LOVE oatmeal cookies.

  2. Karin says:

    Gosh I haven’t baked in ages! I really need to whizz up some yummy cookies too. Yours look so good!

Leave a Reply

