So rainy!

Wow, I woke up this morning to some serious rain.  It’s absolutely pouring!  The rain is supposed to continue all day….. I have to walk 20 minutes to get to work.  Not so fun.  I love rain when I have a day off and the only thing I have planned is watching movies and eating something like soup.  Why couldn’t the rain have been here yesterday??  All I did yesterday was go to the gym, get a few groceries, make soup, and watch movies while the soup simmered away.

Yes, yesterday should have been a rainy day.  It was the perfect cozy day.  Andy’s got this horrible cold so he needs to rest.  What kind of wife would I be if I didn’t join him??  Cozying up and watching movies, it was tough but I had to do it ;)

We watched Prince Valiant and Runaway Bride.  Has anyone ever seen Prince Valiant? It’s a film starring Robert Wagner and Janet Leigh, made in 1954.  I won’t really tell much about the movie except it’s based in Camelot and involves vikings, knights, and King Arthur.  A couple nights ago we watched Camelot-so good!!  Andy grew up watching these types of movies and loves them.  If it wasn’t for him, I probably would never have seen them.  I actually really like them!  Camelot is definitley my favorite out of the two (it’s a musical, Prince Valiant is not).

I do need to bring attention to one thing about Prince Valiant.  Robert Wagner’s hair…..
source

Isn’t it hilarious??  This picture doesn’t even do it justice.  His hair is glistening and always perfectly set thoughout the whole movie.  Love it!

Ooooh yes and I’ve got to tell you about the soup I made!  Its Matzoh Ball Soup from Vegan with a Vengeance.  I’d never in my life made anything with matzoh meal in it before.  I’d never even tasted it before!  This recipe was so easy to follow and so so tasty.  Perfect for a sick husband.

The soup is made from homemade broth.  I can’t believe how easy vegetable broth is to make.  And the flavor is so amazing!  I loved having the broth simmering away on the stove while we watched movies.  The smell added to the cozyness of our day :)

The soup turned out perfect!  I’m bringing leftovers to work….. not too sure how the Matzoh balls will reheat but we shall see.  This is definitely something I’ll make again.  The only requirement is time.  Not too much of the cooking time is active.  You just need to be in the house while the matzoh balls and broth are simmering.  So if you’re ever having a lazy day around the house this soup is perfect!!

p.s. The recipe for those brownies I mentioned the other day needs some tweaking.  I liked them at first but I know they aren’t at their full potential.  Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to keep making and tasting brownies.  What a life :)

About todayslady

I'm a vegetarian who loves to bake and cook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to So rainy!

  1. Hayley says:

    Matzo ball soup reminds me of my childhood. My Jewish grandmother used to make it all the time. She still does, actually, but she lives on the other side of the world! I would love to make my own version :)

    Cozying up and watching movies sounds perfect to me. It is so cold here! I have lots of work to do though, so it will have to wait until the weekend!

  2. I’ve never made a Matzo ball soup, but always wanted too. I’ll have to check out that recipe. I love princess bride! In our wedding, I had the theme (storybook love) playing when our bridesmaids came down the aisle.

  3. I couldn’t agree more–rainy, gloomy days are seriously designed for soup-eating and staying on the couch under a blanket! Your soup looks fantastic :) Looking forward to seeing the brownie recipe soon!

  4. Kelsey says:

    i love the vegan with a vengeance cookbook! ive never tried making the matzo ball soup .. mainly i think cuz im so stuck on her cookies and scone recipes lol. but geez it really looks like yummy soup!!! <3

  5. The soup looks wonderful, I need to check out that book.

  6. Kat says:

    The matzo balls should re-heat just fine. They might fluff apart a bit but trust me, it won’t ruin the soup. They call that stuff Jewish Penicillin for a reason. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  7. oatsandspice says:

    In Michigan it is snowy… I would rather have rain :)

    I love your blog – it is so cute! I can’t wait to keep reading… I just started blogging about 2 months ago – it is extremely addicting :) Take a look at it if you get a chance: http://www.oatsandspice.wordpress.com

  8. Jessica says:

    I haven’t made that soup recipe, even though I’ve had that book for more than 4 years! I was kinda afraid to try it, I think… Yours looks so awesome, though, and I LOVE Matzoh Ball Soup!

Leave a Reply

